Top Ten Tuesday!

I found out about top ten Tuesday from Thoughts on Tomes; it was originally created by The Broke and the Bookish!

10) Yes Please by Amy Poehler

I listened to Yes Please earlier this earlier and absolutely loved it. It’s a great mixture of happy and bittersweet, and I flew through it on my walks to and from school. Poehler’s narration of the book made it even more special.

9) House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

I read House of Leaves in January in one sitting. It was intense. It made me feel a bit like I was going mad myself, and a particular image from this book haunts me still. I definitely recommend it if you’re a fan of horror/psychological thriller, but you should know going in that it’s a bit of a clusterfuck. It’s great, though!

8) A Master Plan for Rescue by Janis Cooke Newman

I recently got A Master Plan for Rescue from Edelweiss. I loved it! It’s a solid story with great characters and a really touching ending. I felt for the main character so much, and I thought that he was really well written. Newman captured the feel of the era really well, too. Definitely recommend if you’re a fan of World War II novels!

7) Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

This book gave me so many feelings for Tiger Lily. I never had that many feelings for her before, but now I love her. And Anderson portrays mermaids as super sinister and creepy, which I also love. It’s a great Peter Pan retelling, with some wonderful, creative additions/changes that I really enjoyed!

6) The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld

I read The Enchanted in one afternoon while it rained outside. (Thanks, Bill.) In some ways, it’s a tough book to read–it certainly makes you think more about the death penalty and men on death row than you might be comfortable with, but I think that’s why it’s such an important read. It’s also beautifully written, and I loved the elements of magical realism in it. Definitely a great book.

5) Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

This was the first book I read this year, and it definitely set my year off right. It’s atmospheric, beautifully written, and has a great cast of characters. Love this book, and I can’t wait to reread it!

4) Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

Recently read this book, and I’m still processing my emotions over it. I absolutely loved it. The atmosphere, the writing, Agnes…it was all wonderful. It’s such a tragic, but beautiful novel about human connection and grief and dealing with the consequences of our past. I love it. If you haven’t read it, please do so immediately.

3) Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

I’ve been a fan of Adichie’s writing since I was in high school. She’s fantastic at crafting stories about people; her writing is beautiful and complex and revealing about whatever issue she might be addressing. Americanah is a pretty hefty book (my edition is a little over 600 pages), but every singly word feels necessary and important. Great novel.

2) Uprooted by Naomi Novik

I read Uprooted at the perfect time: I needed a really great fantasy/fairy tale type of story, and Novik gave that to me. Uprooted is a complex, beautifully crafted story that everyone who likes the fantasy genre should read immediately. It also has one of the best female fantasy characters I’ve seen in a long time.

1) The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson (and Well of Ascension)

The Mistborn series is everything to me; when I finish the third one, I’ll most likely do a wrap up of all three. I love the world, I love the characters, I love the magic system, and I love Sanderson’s writing. It’s all brilliant and fantastic and completely addictive. Read immediately if you haven’t!

Whoo! So many good books. I’ve had a great reading year thus far; I can’t wait to see what the rest of the year has in store! What have been some of your favourite books this year? Have you read any from my list? Are there any in particular you’d like to see a review on?

Until next time, happy reading!

–E. Adeline

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday!

  1. I love House of Leaves! It makes your brain hurt a bit, but thinking is good exercise. 😉 Have you seen The Familiar? It’s a little more weird, and maybe a tiny bit less dark. And the text is even weirder.

    Like

Leave a Reply

