Bookish Challenge 2016

I don’t normally set reading challenges for myself, aside from my Goodreads challenge, because I’m a part of multiple book clubs and don’t want to completely limit my reading. However, because I’m going to have such a busy first part of the year, I figured setting a set number of reading goals would assure that I have the space set aside to read books that I’ve been wanting to read for a while without feeling (too) guilty for reading them.

After much deliberation, I’ve decided to tailor the Popsugar 2016 reading challenge to something a bit more “up my alley,” so to speak. I’ve taken out a couple categories of books that I will never want to read (such as self improvement or straight up romance) and in their place have put in a couple categories specific to my interests.

The list is as follows:

  • A book based on a fairy tale
  • A National Book Award winner
  • A YA bestseller
  • A book you haven’t read since high school
  • A book set in your home state
  • A book translated into English
  • A “period drama” romance (heavy on the history, light on the romance)
  • A book set in Europe
  • A book that’s under 150 pages
  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A book that’s becoming a movie this year
  • A book recommended by a bookseller
  • A retelling of Robin Hood/Maid Marian
  • A book you can finish in a day
  • A retelling of Arthurian legend
  • A political memoir
  • A book at least 100 years older than you
  • A book that’s more than 600 pages
  • A book from Book People’s “New and Noteworthy” Book Club
  • A science-fiction novel
  • A book recommended by a friend
  • A graphic novel/comic trade
  • A book published in 2016
  • A book with a protagonist who has your occupation
  • A book that takes place during summer
  • A heist book
  • A murder mystery
  • A book written by a comedian
  • A fantasy novel
  • A book with a blue cover
  • A book of poetry
  • The first book you see in a bookstore
  • A 20th century classic
  • A book from the library
  • A WWII memoir
  • A book heavily concerned with the sea
  • A book about a culture you’re unfamiliar with
  • A satirical book
  • A book that takes place in Russia
  • A book that’s guaranteed to bring you joy

All in all, this set of categories/genres should be fairly easy to accomplish. Particularly the ones that I’ve added myself.

Are you doing any reading challenges? Do you like/dislike them? Let me know!

Until next time, happy reading!

–E. Adeline

Leave a Reply

