Wine Book Tag

I love wine. A lot. So, when I first saw this book tag over on ChapterStacks’s YT channel, I knew it was a tag for me. The combination of my favourite alcoholic drink and favourite hobby? Yes please. (And, in case you’re wondering, my favourite wine is a rich, full bodied pinot noir. Be still my beating heart.)

QUESTIONS:
1. Box Wine – a book that people will judge you for liking but you like it anyway!

I usually dngaf about what people think of anything I do, especially the books that I read, so this is actually quite a hard question to answer. I suppose my “guiltiest” of pleasures would be my love for cozy, twee mysteries. I adore them. They’re simple to get through, but make me feel all sorts of comfy and cozy. A great example would be the Royal Spyness series by Rhys Bowen or the Flavia de Luce series by Alan Bradley.

2. Organic Wine – a book that doesn’t have any added crap in it and is just written perfectly.

A Portable Shelter by Kirsty Logan. It’s a short story collection that says what it needs to say concisely and beautifully.

3. Gluehwein – a really spicy, wintry read.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. I love this book. The detail is perfect, and it evokes so well the places and cultures that it mentions. It’s a great book to cuddle up with under a blanket with a cup of cocoa or tea.

4. Sauvignon Blanc – a really sharp and aggressive read that you couldn’t put down!

Night Film by Marisha Pessl. I read this book in about a day. It’s not perfect, but it’s a great thriller and I absolutely loved the way it incorporated horror elements.

5. Pinot Noir – a book you didn’t expect much from but ended up getting blown away!

Watership Down by Richard Adams. I read this book in a children’s literature class I took in my undergraduate coursework and absolutely loved it, which I did not foresee. I never thought I could feel so many emotions about fictional rabbits. I highly recommend it.

6. Chardonnay – a good summer read that was super-zesty.

Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy. This may seem like an odd choice, but I tend to read McCarthy’s novels in the summer time. They just evoke the right atmosphere for me during the summer months. They’re dark, hot, and usually contain a lot of “fire” or “red” imagery. There’s violent action and dry, desert landscapes. It’s just perfect.  I love him as a writer, and Blood Meridian is my favourite of his books that I’ve read thus far.

7. Rose – a book that has a little bit of everything in it.

I’m going to cheat and say the Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson. There are great friendships, romance, action, and a wonderful  magic system. It’s a great fantasy series that I highly, highly recommend.

8. Shiraz – A full-bodied book that is dark and juicy.

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton. I don’t know if I would necessarily say it’s juicy, but it’s certainly dark. It’s a beautiful book and showcases its magical realist roots beautifully.

9. Merlot- a smooth easy read with a soft finish.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik. It’s a fast paced, wonderfully detailed fantasy book that takes no time at all to finish. It uses all the best fantasy tropes well, while still remaining enjoyable and a great story.

10. Champagne – Your Favorite Book.

This is a near impossible question to ask, but I have to say The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. It’s atmospheric, it’s beautiful, it’s enchanting. It’s basically everything I could ever want in a book, and so encapsulates everything I love about literature and storytelling. I love it.

Leave a Reply

