Books I’m Bringing With Me On Holiday

Choosing what books to bring home with me when I go back for Christmas is always a tiny bit nerve-wracking. What if I choose books I don’t actually want to read? What if I don’t bring enough? It’s a major #firstworldproblem, but still a struggle. I think this is what I’ll be packing with me when I leave (there’s always a chance I substitute one book for another–such is life), and I’m excited about my choices.

  1. Christmas Days: 12 Stories and 12 Feasts for 12 Days by Jeanette Winterson. I plan on starting this one on the 12th and continuing until the 24th.
  2. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides. I’ve promised one of my roommates that I’ll read this over break, so it’s going to be my flight/train book.
  3. Sula by Toni Morrison. I read Swing Time by Zadie Smith last month, and was a bit underwhelmed by the female friendships portrayed in it. It sounds like there were some undercurrents of Sula within the novel, so I’m excited to see how Toni Morrison (one of my favorite writers) handles her female friendships in this novel.
  4. Man by Kim Thuy. I just really want to read this book.
  5. Born a Crime by Trevor Noah. This is the audiobook pick that I’ll be listening to, which I’m pretty excited about. It sounds like this is a fantastic memoir, and I’m a big fan of Noah.
  6. The Nutcracker by E.T.A Hoffman. I have a digital copy of this novella on my iPad, so I plan on giving it a read before I see it performed at the ballet later this month.

I may throw in a poetry book, or a nonfiction read. I just checked out Acres of Skin from the library, and I’m dying to read it, even though it will break me. We shall see.

How do you choose what to bring with you on holiday? I’d love to know!

Until next time, happy reading!

–E. Adeline

Leave a Reply

